Thanks for A Terrific Year!

Audience members get ready to enjoy a Filmstock AZ showing!

Audience members get ready to enjoy a Filmstock AZ showing!

A week later, the dust has settled, the numbers have been counted, and the awards handed out. Everyone has recovered from an amazing festival and after party, and we’re excited to announce not only our award-winners below, but also our key people who made Filmstock happen this year.

If you’ve read a little about us, you may know that Filmstock is a film festival that has unique Filmstock events in the major metro areas of each of the Four Corners states (AZ, NM, CO & UT). We had over 70 people volunteer their time and effort to make this happen, and to ensure that the top 4 award-winning films from each Filmstock is able to be shown in the next three Filmstock cities. I am excited to have achieved our goal of growing into three brand-new regions. Particularly, I would like to thank the following individuals:

Charlie Gravina & JD Herrera: for making Filmstock New Mexico a smashing success, with over 450 people in attendance for our inaugural one-night event.
Andy Nease: who bravely brought Filmstock into the new & challenging Denver market, and created a two-day event our first year there!
Tina Thorup: who brought us into Utah and was able to garner some terrific attention to our efforts and successes in that state.
Cassandra Nicholson: for coordinating most, if not all, of Filmstock Arizona, creating an event that went off without a hitch.
Melissa Farley: for doing what very few film festivals are able to accomplish, and creating a program that put terrific spotlight on our local actors by creating an amazingly successful Actor’s Competition & showcasing local talent and personalities as hosts for each Filmstock AZ showing.
Justin McNeil: for dutifully manning projection and the technical aspects of the festival.
Dan Senatore: for creating stunning branding and collateral.
and last, but not least,
Bobby Shook: for being the Filmmaker Liaison, communicating with all of our 42 amazing filmmakers, producing all of Filmstock’s motion video content, and generally being my #2 throughout the last 18 months. This guy doesn’t sleep much.

We are changing things up slightly for next year- Filmstock will kick off with our New Mexico event in September 2014; specific dates to be announced early 2014!

Without further adieu, congratulations to the following award winners:

iFest Awards:

Best of iFest: There You Are, by Telemental Pictures
Best Betrayal: MacGruffin, by Running Wild Films
Best MacGuffin: MacGruffin, by Running Wild Films
Best Character Development: Side One, by Reckless Abandon
Audience iChoice: MacGruffin, by Running Wild Films

Actor’s Competition Awards:

Best Actor: Cisco Saavedra
Best Actress: Sandy Olson
Best Partnership: Kellie Cornelison and Todd  Isaac
Best Abstract: Brandon Hannifon
Best Comedic: Nikki Heinrich
Best Dramatic: Khalid Gibson Carter
Audience Choice Award: Kellie Cornelison and Todd  Isaac

Filmstock Official Selection Awards:

Best Actor: Benedict Cumberbatch
Best Cinematography: The Last Piper
Best Production Design: Insecurity
Best Original Score: The Last Piper
Best Editing: A Stray
Best Director: Insecurity
Best of Fest: Inseparable

Barry E Wallace Award: Greg Bronson

Congratulations to all participants in the 2013 Filmstock Film Festival. We couldn’t have asked for a more successful year or better talent to showcase. We hope to be able to serve the Four Corners area even more as we enter into 2014.

Until then, peace, love and movies!

-Festival Director, James A Lee