2015 Awards Announced!

Wow, what a year! We're so very grateful to have been able to screen such amazing films, work with such talented actors, and be hosted by such fantastic venues. A heartfelt thank you to everyone who made this year possible and contributed to its success. We had a record-breaking year, and we're very pleased to announce this year's awards:

The winners for the Actor's Showcase are:

Best Actor: Vic Rogers
Best Actress: Jane Fendelman
Best Abstract: Timothy Valdisera
Best Comedic: Kamy Renee Johnson
Best Dramatic: J Lyle
Best Partnership: Cody Goulder & Melody Knudson
Best Redirect: Cisco Saavedra 

The winners for our film awards are as follows:

Best of Fest: Wai Leng Cheong, Sunflowers
Best Director: Alejandro Montoya Marin, Low/Fi
Best Actor: Alyzee Costes, La Veilleuse
Best Production Design: Erik Law Anderson, The Looking Planet
Best Screenplay: Margriet Privee, The Elevator
Audience Choice: Shio Chuan Quek, Sunflowers

The recipient of this year's Barry E Wallace Award was Windy West. 

We'll see you all next year! 

Official Selections Announced!!!

Be sure to check out Low/Fi, screening at the 2015 Filmstock Film Festival! 

Be sure to check out Low/Fi, screening at the 2015 Filmstock Film Festival! 

With over 500 hours of films submitted to us this year, we're exhausted... but EXCITED to say that we FINALLY have official selections for this year's show, December 4-6th! 

With an even 50 brand-new short films constituting 10 hours of quality entertainment throughout the weekend's program, these films bring the widest and most exciting gamut of film genres and programming at Filmstock to date!

Please join us in welcoming to the Filmstock family the following films!

Beyond Words
Candelaria Hot Dog
Digital Native
Grand Raspberetta
Her and Hubbub
Maki and the Bird
The Looking Planet
Big Red Friday
Love, Where Are You?
Letters to The City Yet to Come
The Call
Have A Nice Flight
The Elevator
Total Awesome Viking Power
Back to You
La Veilleuse
Surrender at Crow Lake
The Walker
Where Flowers Once Grew
Saying Goodbye
Sonnet 134
A Stage for Size
Chris Bianco: I Used to Say Never
New Mo' Cut
Hop Scotch and the Funk Dumpling
This is Sinterklaas
Dog Bowl
Jacob Stone
A God-Fearin' Man
Anxiety #5
The Silent

Stay tuned for more information, and we look forward to seeing you at Filmstock! 

So Many Films!

Every year, we're really encouraged and honored to be a growing film festival. Our first year breaking 200 submissions was a big and exciting year for us. Then, in 2014, we were astounded when we discovered that we had jumped to over 1,100 submissions. 

In 2015, we took the Four Corners circuit on a hiatus, and expected a lower submission count. 


In 2015, we closed our season just under 2,700 submission. 


Needless to say, we were not anticipating this kind of volume, and were not staffed appropriately! That being the case, we're trying as hard as we can, but will have to push back our notification date of October 15th to the end of the month (October 31st). Official selections will be announced on or before this time. 

This is a decision we feel we have to make in order to ensure that the films that were submitted have a proper chance to be in the festival itself. It's not a decision we'd like to make, but it's one we'll have to make in order to ensure fairness to our submitters, and the best festival possible for our audience. 

If you have any questions, as always feel free to e-mail us with questions, comments or concerns at filmstockfilmfest@gmail.com --- and as always, Peace, Love and Movies!

Barry E Wallace Nominees Announced!

James Lee (left) congratulating Greg Bronson (right) on being awarded the Filmstock Arizona 2013 Barry E Wallace Award

James Lee (left) congratulating Greg Bronson (right) on being awarded the Filmstock Arizona 2013 Barry E Wallace Award

The Barry E Wallace Citizenship Award celebrates talented and selfless individuals who go above and beyond to help their surrounding film community. Please join us in congratulating these five individuals for their recognition the Arizona film community has given them as Barry E Wallace Nominees:

  • Michelle Eldredge 
  • Chris Heck
  • Tammy McDaniel
  • Randy Murray
  • Sandra Williams

The Barry E Wallace Award will be given during the Awards & After Party celebration at the Handlebar on Mill Avenue, December 7th, 9:00pm. We look forward to seeing you there!

Learn more about Filmstock Arizona 2014 here and get your tickets today!